Update: NetherRealm Studios is done with its character reveals. The following is the final character roster for Mortal Kombat 11 at launch.

Original: Following four long years since the last installment, Mortal Kombat 11 will be releasing as the next major entry in the iconic fighting franchise.

It will serve as a direct sequel to the events in Mortal Kombat X and involve time travel once again. Having defeated Shinnok, a corrupted Raiden vows to protect Earthrealm by destroying all of its enemies. However, a mysterious woman named Kronika, only known as the Keeper of Time, wants to bring order to the universe and that means eliminating Raiden for changing the events of the past, as seen in the 2011 reboot.

Mortal Kombat 11 will release with 26 playable characters, with additional characters included through post-release expansion packs. NetherRealm Studios is still revealing the characters one at a time. Some were showcased during a reveal event last month, while others were announced in the weeks after.

The following is a list of all playable characters that have been officially confirmed by the developer so far, which will be updated as more reveals and roster inclusions are announced over the weeks.

  • Baraka
  • Cassie Cage
  • Cetrion (New)
  • D’Vorah
  • Erron Black
  • Frost
  • Geras (New)
  • Jacqui Briggs
  • Jade
  • Jax
  • Johnny Cage
  • Kabal
  • Kano
  • Kitana
  • Kollector (New)
  • Kotal Kahn
  • Kung Lao
  • Liu Kang
  • Noob Saibot
  • Raiden
  • Scorpion
  • Shang Tsung (DLC)
  • Shao Kahn (Pre-Order Bonus)
  • Skarlet
  • Sonya Blade
  • Sub-Zero

Mortal Kombat 11 is scheduled to release for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC on April 23, 2019.